Time To Relax

Amber relaxing on an end table

Cats can be misleading. If you didn’t know them, you might say, “Cat’s sleep all the time!” It certainly seems that way, doesn’t it? Willow and Amber sleep the day away, and if you didn’t live in the house you couldn’t argue with the above statement. However, I do live in the house; more importantly, I sleep in the house. Cats are nocturnal creatures. I found this statement proved many, many times during the night. Fighting, playing, running up and down the hallway–the usually antics of my furry pals at any given time between dusk and dawn.

Willow waking up from a nap, realizing he's being watched (and photographed!)

Then, of course, come morning, they pass out (after eating breakfast) till lunch. So what I have been trying to do is let them sleep the morning away, and then keep them awake as much as I can in the afternoon. I read that cats sleep sixteen hours a day, so a little morning nap won’t put much of a dent in that. Despite that, they often get hyper just before we go to bed, so I try to play with them and wear them out. They seemed to have calmed down somewhat, but I have yet to see if it’s my plan that’s keeping them quieter at night, or if they thought that too many late-night parties wasn’t the best idea.

We’ll see!

~Willow’s Person

Leave a Reply

