Life and Death: Goodbye, Congee

I don’t believe that I’ve mentioned this before, but five years before we met Willow, we had three cats. We had had four, but one of them (Mocha) simply disappeared one day at our old apartment. The three we still had were Lofu (Cantonese for tiger), Yahmow (Cantonese for stray cat), and Congee (the Cantonese word for their rice soup). We got Congee as a playmate for Mocha, our first cat. We named him Congee because he loved to sit on the hot pads we used for…well, congee, which we eat rather frequently. Then we got Lofu; we named him that because he frankly looked like a tiger. He had this adorable little “target” shaped marking on his side. He and Congee soon became the best of friends. It was later that Mocha got lost. We then moved across the country, with Congee and Lofu, of course. In the neighborhood in which we settled, we met Yahmow (who was, quite obviously, a stray). Sadly, we were only able to spend a few months with him before my mom developed cat allergies.

A photo of Congee

Consequently, we had to give our cats away. Lofu and Yahmow were adopted by a friend of ours, but he soon found he couldn’t take care of them, so he gave them to someone else. Eventually, we lost track. My aunt in California offered to take Congee. We were very happy to hear this, because (although Lofu was a wonderfully sweet, patient cat, and Yahmow was fun and adorable as most kittens are) Congee held (and still holds) a special place in our hearts. He is the sweetest cat God ever created.

I can remember coming home after going to the neighborhood playground, and Congee, Lofu, and Yahmow would be waiting to greet me. I can remember waking up in the middle of the night to find Congee sleeping on my hair, and Lofu and Yahmow sleeping at my feet. I remember Congee, during the winter, loved to crawl under the covers and snuggle up next to us.

Congee...adorable as ever

But Congee is now a seventeen year old cat that has lived a long, happy life. He has recently been on thyroid medication, but other than that he has been very healthy. A week or two ago, however, his heart failed and he stopped eating.

He is going to be put down at 6:30 (CT) today, Thursday.

Congee playing with a toy

When we got the news on Monday, Amber knew. She crawled into my lap while I was crying. She began to lick, and then she licked my hand and gently gnawed on it, making me laugh. I am so glad that we have them to help us during this time. I ask for prayers that Congee won’t be in any pain and that his passing will be peaceful, and that my aunt and my parents and I will be able to get through this difficult time. He is a wonderful, sweet, extraordinary cat that has always deserved the best, and I love him.

~Willow’s Person

Leave a Reply

